2013 NABJ Hall of Fame

On Jan. 17. 2013 during Inaguration Week Festivities Betty Baye and five others were inducted into The National Association of Black Journalists’ Hall of Fame in a ceremony at The Newseum in Washington, DC.

Annually, NABJ pays homage to legendary black journalists who have made outstanding contributions to the industry. Over the last 20 years, NABJ has inducted over 50 distinguished journalists into the association’s Hall of Fame.

The NABJ Hall of Fame inductees were named by Board of Directors based on the recommendation of the Hall of Fame Committee chaired by NABJ Founder Maureen Bunyan, Evening News Anchor WJLA-TV.

“These six journalists have had barrier breaking careers which have allowed them to tell compelling stories about everyday acts, ordinary lives, and historic times,” said NABJ President Gregory Lee. “The careers they’ve had and the battles they’ve fought as journalists are anything but ordinary. For all their achievements NABJ is pleased to present them with this most well-deserved honor.”

The newest members are:
Betty Winston Baye, Longtime Columnist, The Courier-Journal (Louisville, Ky.)

Simeon Booker, First Black Reporter, The Washington Post and Washington Bureau Chief, Jet Magazine

Alice Dunnigan, First Black Woman Credentialed to Cover The White House, The State Department, and Congress (posthumous)

Sue Simmons, Longtime Anchorwoman, WNBC-TV

Wendell Smith, Legendary Sportswriter, Helped Desegregate Baseball (posthumous)

Cynthia Tucker, Pulitzer-Winning Columnist, The Atlanta Journal Constitution

For more than 25 years Betty Baye worked as a reporter, editor, and editorial page writer at The Courier-Journal in Louisville, Kentucky. She was the only African-American editorial writer and columnist on staff. The Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism alumna is well-regarded for her bold and insightful commentaries on race, equity and justice, and African-American history and culture.